The SGMC to be Honored at the 2016 Artistic License Awards!


The SGMC to be Honored at the 2016 Artistic License Awards!

ALA 2016 on license plate

On Tuesday, May 17th, 2016 from 6 – 8 PM, California Lawyers for the Arts will honor six outstanding persons and organizations at the California Automobile Museum, 2200 Front St. Sacramento, CA.

This year’s honorees include a philanthropic champion of the arts community, a performing arts choral organization with a 30 year history in Sacramento, two elected officials with a strong commitment to arts advocacy, a local impresario for music and poetry, and a visionary community developer, all of whom have a commitment to the arts that enhances our community beyond measure. CLA invites you to a lively evening of art, music, wine tastings, a live auction, and hors d’oeuvres.

The 2016 Honorees are:

  • Marcy Friedman
  • Senator Mark Leno
  • Art Luna
  • Senator Jim Nielsen
  • The Sacramento Gay Men’s Chorus
  • Ali Youssefi

In 2008, California Lawyers for the Arts conceived of the Artistic License Awards to recognize persons and organizations who have mastered their arts (intended in the broadest possible sense) in extraordinary ways for the communities they serve. Artistic license implies so many things: freedom of expression, residual rights and royalties, the daring to be different, to make a difference through innovation and service. As a statewide organization, the ALA rotates between Sacramento, San Francisco and Los Angeles; and Sacramento is proud to be hosting the Artistic License Awards 2016! The purpose of this annual event is to raise funds for CLA , raise CLA’s profile and public awareness in our community, increase outreach to serve larger numbers, strengthen relationships with key constituencies, such as law firms, arts organizations, entertainment businesses, and individual artists, and to recognize civic leaders who have supported the arts.

Past Honorees include Artist Wayne Thiebaud, State Senate President Pro Tem Darryl Steinberg, Russ Solomon (Tower Records Founder), Actors Danny Glover & Ben Guillory, founders of The Robey Theatre, Former CA First Lady Maria Shriver, The San Francisco Symphony, U.S. Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi, Malissa Feruzzi Shriver, Artist and Chair of the California Arts Council, Frank Romero, Artist, Pen Center U.S.A., Non-Profit Advocacy Organization, Senator Jack Scott (spearheaded the artistic license plate program), and Dr. Lawrence Brewster of USF and the William James Foundation, LA City Cultural Affairs Commission President (and Artist) Al Nodal, U.S. Representative Diane Watson, Arts Icon Henry Hopkins (in memoriam); in addition to numerous others.